Council Members

The Austrian Council consists of eight members with voting rights, four of whom were appointed by the Minister of Science and Research and four by the Minister of Transport, Innovation and Technology. The members of the Austrian Council with voting rights are appointed for a five year term of office and may be reappointed for one further period. The Minister of Transport, Innovation and Technology, the Minister of Science and Research, the Minister of Economic Affairs, Family and Youth and the Minister of Finance or their designated representatives hold seats on the Austrian Council but have no voting rights.

You can download the Act here (German). The passages concerning the Austrian Council can be found in Article 2, Paragraph 17 (page 11ff).


On this page, we introduce you to the members of the 4th term of the Austrian Council (in alphabetical order):

Hannes Androsch (Chairman)

Hannes Androsch

Industrialist and i.a. Supervisory Board Chairman of Austrian Institute of Technology

Markus Hengstschläger (Vice Chairman)

Markus Hengstschläger

Geneticist, Medical University of Vienna

Jakob Edler

Jakob Edler

Director of the Institute of Innovation Research, Manchester Business School

Hermann Hauser

Hermann Hauser

Business founder, IT entrepreneur and entrepreneur for risk capital in Great Britain, co-founder Silicon Fen („british Silicon Valley“)

Sabine Herlitschka

Sabine Herlitschka

CEO Infineon Technologies Austria AG

Helga Nowotny

Helga Nowotny

Former President European Research Council, Chair of the ERA Council Forum Austria

Sylvia Schwaag-Serger

Sylvia Schwaag Serger

Executive Director International Strategy and Networks, Swedish Government Agency for Innovation Systems (VINNOVA)

Klara Sekanina

Klara Sekanina

Council member Swiss Federal Foundation for Promotion of the National Economy through Scientific Research
Former Director of the Commission for Technology and Innovation (CTI)

Advisory Members:


Minister of Transport, Innovation and Technology

[link to Norbert Hofer]


Minister of Finance

[link to Hartwig Löger]


Minister for Digital and Economic Affairs

[link to Margarete Schramböck]